Prime minister reshuffles cabinet......

  • A number of "2nd deputy ministers"
  • MCA chief Dr chua soi lek not in the list .... MCA SG moved up to MCA's traditional ministerial post
  • Ex-PPP youth chief Dato Murugiah still a dept-minister ( i think)
  • MIC's dept Dato G app as a dept minister.... an additional government post for MIC
  • Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin has again missed the boat

Ministers (2)

Transport Minister

IN - MCA secretary-general Kong Cho Ha (previously housing and local government minister)

OUT - Former MCA chief Ong Tee Keat

Housing and Local Government Minister

IN - MCA vice-president Chor Chee Heung (promoted from deputy finance minister)

MOVED - Kong Cho Ha (to transport minister)

Deputy Ministers (10)

Deputy Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumer Affairs Minister

IN - PPB's Rohani Abdul Karim (previously deputy agriculture and agro-based industries minister)

Second deputy: Gerakan Wanita chief Tan Lian Hoe

Deputy Transport Minister

IN - SPDP's Jelaing Mersat (former deputy home minister)

Second deputy - Kudat MP (Umno) Abdul Rahim Bakri

Deputy Home Minister

- MCA CC member Lee Chee Leong (previously deputy foreign minister)

MOVED - Jelaing Mersat (moved to deputy transport minister)

Deputy Women, Family and Community Development Minister

IN - MCA Wanita vice-chief Heng Seai Kie (previously deputy information, communications and culture minister

OUT - Former MCA chief Chew Mei Fun (resigned earlier)

Deputy Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister

IN - MIC deputy president and senator G Palanivel (new face)

Second deputy - Larut MP (Umno) Hamzah Zainuddin

Deputy Foreign Minister

- SUPP CC member Richard Riot (new face)

MOVED - MCA CC member Lee Chee Leong (moved to deputy home minister)

Deputy Agriculture and Agro-based Industries Minister

- MCA central committee member Chua Tee Yong (new face, son of MCA chief Dr Chua Soi Lek)

MOVED - PPB's Rohani Abdul Karim (moved to Deputy Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumer Affairs Minister)

Deputy Finance Minister

- MCA vice-president Donald Lim

PROMOTED - MCA vice-president Chor Chee Hueng (to housing and local government minister)

Deputy Information, Communications and Culture Minister

- PPP vice-president Maglin Dennis D'Cruz (new face)

MOVED - MCA Wanita vice-president Heng Seai Kie (moved to deputy women, family and community development minister)

Deputy Youth and Sports Minister

- MCA vice-president Gan Ping Shou (new face)

OUT - MCA CC member Wee Jack Seng