MIC Youth coordinator T. Mohan won the MIC Youth chief post, defeating his opponent S.P. Muthu Velloo after garnering 321 votes to Muthu Velloo's 148 in the party's polls today.

Meanwhile, Datin Paduka P. Komala Devi retained her position as Wanita MIC chief when she won by a 26-vote majority in a straight fight against her deputy S. Thangesvari.

Komala Devi obtained 238 votes while Thangesvari received 212.

The results were announced by MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu at Dewan Merdeka in the Putra World Trade Centre here at 6.10pm.

The MIC Youth deputy chief position was won by Youth political bureau chief V. Mugilan who garnered 266 votes while his opponent R. Vidyananthan, who is the Kahang assemblyman in Johor, obtained 204 votes.

The Wanita deputy chief post went to Dr C.V. Prema from Perak who obtained 279 votes. She defeated Negri Sembilan Wanita MIC chief Dr P. Thanaletchumi who only managed 172 votes.

Both wings also voted 12 people into the National Youth Council and 35 delegates to the MIC general assembly and two people for posts in the central working committee. — Bernama